Meet our staff: Team Leader Carling Sothoron

As the start date of Arcadia Farm Camp approaches, we’ll be giving you an opportunity to learn more about our staff. We’re excited about the stellar team we’ve put together, and we hope you are, too!

Keep reading to “meet” our Team Leader Carling Sothoron.

* Why are you excited to work at Arcadia Farm Camp this summer?
I am honored and greatly looking forward to being a part of Arcadia’s pilot Farm Camp. I strongly believe that one of the best ways to connect children with the natural world is through cultivating healthy food and relationships. I know from experience that children are in their greatest element when they are free to be outside and explore. I’m excited to share my knowledge with this summer’s campers and provide the opportunities for them to learn, grow, craft and most importantly have fun!

* Tell us about your previous experience with garden or farm-based education.
I’ve been gardening and volunteering on farms for the last 3 years and I’ve been a childcare provider for the last 10 years. It was only natural that I marry the two and become a garden educator. In 2011, I was a Farm-Based Educator with the Food Literacy Project in Louisville, KY where I facilitated a variety of food-based activities and lessons with children of all ages. I have also been the personal gardener for three different families with children.

* What’s your favorite vegetable?
That’s a tough question. Being vegetarian, I love so many vegetables. Even though my farm name is Carling Carrot, I’d have to say my favorite vegetable is asparagus.

Leave a Reply

